Traffic

Traffic Fines & Court Information

See Related Forms See Related Fees

The Traffic Division is the largest single court-related area of the Clerk’s Office. The Traffic Division is responsible for processing all traffic citations issued by the Kissimmee Police Department, St. Cloud Police Department, Osceola County Sheriff’s Department, the Florida Highway Patrol (when issued in Osceola County), and other state law enforcement agencies. Cases filed in the Traffic Division are: criminal traffic violations, traffic infractions (cases involving a civil penalty/fine and not punishable by a term in the county jail) and parking tickets.

The Traffic Division is located at 2 Courthouse Square, Kissimmee, Florida. Individuals with citations report there to satisfy citations, request hearing, elect traffic school, and seek other information. Traffic Court is held in the Osceola County Courthouse.

We have cashiers available where customers can elect an option (as defined below), pay a fine, or show proof of compliance to satisfy a traffic citation. Technology plays a key role in allowing the Clerk’s Office to process a case quickly. The Clerk of Court is authorized by Florida Statutes to reinstate the driver’s license and privilege to drive when a person complies with all obligations and penalties imposed.

If you have been issued a traffic citation, please read the following:
You must comply with one of the following, within thirty (30) calendar days from the issue date of your citation to prevent suspension of your driver’s license and a late fee of $23.00 (plus a $60.00 reinstatement fee): 

1. MAIL PAYMENT - (Points may be assessed) – Make personal check, cashier’s check or money order payable to Clerk of the Court, in accordance with the civil penalty indicated on the back of your citation. Include a copy of your citation affix proper postage and mail.

2. ELECT TO ATTEND TRAFFIC SCHOOL AND PAY CIVIL PENALTY (NO POINTS ASSESSED) - It is entirely your responsibility to enroll in driving school. You are also responsible for filing the completion form with the Clerk’s Office within the time limit specified. Make personal check, cashier’s check or money order payable to: Clerk of the Court. Mail original (white) copy of the Affidavit and copy of your citation, proper payment amount, affix proper postage and mail. Request for School and Payment must be RECEIVED by the Traffic Division within thirty (30) Calendar days from issue date of citation or your school option will be denied.


Completed traffic certificates may be emailed to tscomp@osceolaclerk.org


** Effective 7/1/05 - Drivers holding a commercial license may no longer make this election.**

3. REQUEST A HEARING - You may appear in person or request in writing within thirty (30) Calendar days a hearing for any non-criminal traffic infraction.

WARNING: Pursuant to Section 28.246 (6), Florida Statutes, any fines and cost remain unpaid after 90 days may be referred to a collection agency, and up to an additional 40% charge will be added to the amount owed.

Additional penalties apply if payment is not received by the due date.

No Options or Payments Will Be Accepted By Telephone

If You Have Any Questions, Call (407) 742-3566


 

Related Forms & Documents

Affidavit of Defense

This form is used in lieu of appearing in court for a Traffic Infraction for those that already have a court date scheduled. This form must be submitted with the appropriate fees, as outlined on the instruction sheet

Download File


AFFIDAVIT OF NON-RESPONSIBILITY FOR A CITY OF KISSIMMEE RED LIGHT CITATION

This form is submitted when the person cited on a City of Kissimmee Red Light Camera citation was not the person driving the vehicle when the citation was issued.

Download File


Affidavit of NonCompliance

This form is used by persons who cannot provide proof of valid registration or insurance to comply with a traffic citation. Statutory fees will apply.

Download File


Traffic School Affidavit

This affidavit must be completed for persons wishing to select the Traffic School Option in lieu of having points assessed to their driving record. Eligibility requirements and detailed instructions are outlined on the form. Citation must be paid within 30 calendar days of offense.

Download File


Traffic Hearing Request

This form is used for persons who would like to address the court regarding a civil traffic citation. No fee is required if the hearing is requested within 30-days of the citation date. All correspondence to a hearing officer or judge must contain your signature.

Download File


Change of Address Criminal

This form is used for persons wanting to change their address with the Clerk's Criminal and Traffic Departments.

Download File


Extension for Payment of Traffic Citation

This form is used to extend the due date for a traffic infraction. A fee must be submitted with this form.

Download File


Partial Payment Agreement

This form is used to apply for a 90-day partial payment plan for a non-criminal traffic citation.

Download File


Plea of No Contest

This form is used for persons who received citations for Expired or No Driver’s License, Expired or No Registration, or Expired or No Insurance, as well as Driving While License Suspended without Knowledge and have since reinstated. Applicable fees, eligibility requirements and detailed instructions are outlined on the form.

Download File


AFFIDAVIT OF NON-RESPONSIBILITY FOR AN OSCEOLA COUNTY RED LIGHT CITATION

This form is submitted when the person cited on an Osceola County Red Light Camera citation was not the person driving the vehicle when the citation was issued.

Download File


Related Fees

The Clerk’s Office accepts cash, cashier’s checks, money orders, business checks, Visa, Master Card, Discover, and American Express card payments only. We do not accept personal checks.

Standard Amount
Non-Moving Violations ***Chapter 316***
$116.00

Non-Moving Violations ***Chapters 320 & 322***
$113.00

Moving Violations ***Chapter 316***
$166.00

Moving Violations ***Chapters 320 & 322***
$163.00

Failure to Stop at Red Light
$264.00

Failure to Yield to an Emergency Vehicle - F.S. 316.126 (1), (1) (a)
$166.00

Move Over Act – F.S. 316.126 (1) (b); (1) (b) (1); (1) (b) (2)
$136.00

Littering
$113.00

Safety Belt
$116.00

Child Restraint
$166.00

ATV Violation (F. S. 316.2074)
$111.00

Toll Violations (If paid within 30 days) *Fine + Amount of Toll
$136.00

Pedestrian/Bicycle
$64.50

Disabled Parking Violation
$183.00

Railroad Crossing Violation
$206.00

Failure to Stop for School Bus
$271.00

Passing School Bus on Enter/Exit Side
$0.00

Load Not Covered/Dropping/Leaking (F.S.316.650)
$0.00
Motorcycle / Moped Tag Violation or Wheels Off Ground (316.2085 (2) Or (3)
1st Offense
$1166.00

2nd Offense
$2666.00
Speeding Traffic Infractions Fee Schedule
6 – 9 Miles Over
$131.00

10 – 14 Miles Over
$206.00

15 – 19 Miles Over
$256.00

20 – 29 Miles Over
$281.00

30 + Miles Over
$0.00
School/Construction Zone
1 – 9 Miles Over
$156.00

10 – 14 Miles Over
$306.00

15 – 19 Miles Over
$406.00

20 – 29 Miles Over
$456.00

30 + Miles Over
$0.00
CMV Violations
Improper/Unsafe Equipment – F.S. 316.302(1)
$186.00

Disregard Required Hours of Rest – F.S. 316.302(2)(B)
$186.00

Falsification of Time Records – F.S. 316.302(2)(C)
$186.00

Failure to Possess Physical Examination - F.S. 316.302(2)(I)
$336.00

Operator of CMV under Age 18 – F.S. 316.302(3)
$336.00

Improper Identification Markings – F.S. 316.3027(1)
$136.00

Removable Device Violation – F.S. 316.3027(2)
$136.00

Company ID Not in Compliance – F.S. 316.3027(3)
$136.00

Failure to Remove ID from Vehicle – F.S. 316.3027(4)
$136.00
Miscellaneous
Non-Repaired Equipment
$116.00

Repaired Equipment
$96.00

Dismissal Fee (If Registration, DL, or Insurance was valid at the time of the stop)
$10.00

Fail to Change Adress on DL
$113.00

Proof of Compliance – Tag/DL/Registration
$98.25

Proof of compliance – Insurance
$80.90

Signing and sealing traffic school affidavit
$7.00

30-day extensions
$4.00